Fort Lauderdale Criminal Defense & Personal Injury Attorneys
What Are the Penalties for a Second-Offense DUI?

What Are the Penalties for a Second-Offense DUI?

Repeated DUI offenses can have serious penalties in the state of Florida. The consequences of a second-offense DUI usually include heavy fines, license suspension, vehicle impounding, and the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. An interlock device is a breath-test machine, also known as a breathalyzer, that is connected to a vehicle’s ignition system. With it installed, the vehicle won’t start until the driver breaths into the IID and passes the breath test. There is also mandatory jail time for drivers who are convicted of a second DUI charge within five years of their first conviction.

Administrative Penalties

In most cases, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) will suspend the license of the driver who was arrested for driving under the influence. If the driver had a BAC of .08% or more, the license suspension will be for 1 year if the driver already has a DUI charge within the last 5 years. However, there are cases where drivers can get a “hardship” license that allows them to drive to and from work, school, and medical appointments. Hardship licenses are usually available after completing the first 30 days of suspension.

Criminal Penalties

There are various criminal penalties that a repeat DUI offender might be hit with, including:

  • Fines
  • Jail Time
  • Vehicle impounding

Typically, second DUI fines range from $1,000 to $2,000. However, this may vary depending on the circumstances. If another passenger or driver suffered injuries, fines can be up to $5,000. DUI second-offenders with previous convictions within the last 5 years have a required minimum of a 10-day jail sentence. There are situations where jail times may be longer. In addition, the driver’s car may be impounded for up to 30 days.

Contact a Ft. Lauderdale DUI Defense Attorney

If you have been previously convicted of DUI and charged with a second one, it is vital to contact a DUI defense attorney as quickly as possible. At Rudenberg and Glasser, P.A. our legal team can help you through this complex process and help you get your charges dropped. Call our defense lawyers today to get started.

Contact us at (954) 543-1788 or fill out a short form to review your case with a Fort Lauderdale DUI lawyer!

Categories:

Contact Us Today!

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.